When everyone has a home

Housing advice for Northern Ireland

Eligibility test

The Housing Executive has a legal responsibility to help homeless people. The amount of help you're entitled to depends on whether you pass 4 homelessness. The tests look at whether you are homeless, why you are homeless, whether you're entitled to help and whether you're in greater need of help than other people.

You have to be "eligible" to apply for housing. You may not be able to get help with homelessness if

  • your immigration status means you cannot apply, or
  • you have been involved in certain types of antisocial behaviour. 

The Housing Executive has a duty to offer you accommodation if it is satisfied that you are a Full Duty Applicant. You will be a Full Duty Applicant if you pass all four homeless tests also known as 'hurdles'.

Nivelul de ajutor pe care Housing Executive trebuie să vi-l ofere depinde de circumstanțele dvs. personale. Housing Executive va utiliza 4 teste pentru stabilirea circumstanțelor dvs. locative. Dacă treceți toate cele patru teste, veți deveni Solicitant cu Regim Integral - Full Duty Applicant (FDA) și Housing Executive va accepta faptul că are o responsabilitate pentru a vă găsi locuință permanentă.

Certain people cannot get help with housing because their immigration status does not allow this. Get advice if you've been told that you can't get help with housing because of your immigration status. 

You might not get help with housing if you have a history of "unacceptable behaviour". 

If you pass this test the Housing Executive will have to check that you are also homeless, in priority need and that you’re not intentionally homeless. You might be entitled to temporary accommodation while this is happening.

If you pass all 4 homeless tests you’ll be a Full Duty Applicant and the Housing Executive will have to make 2 reasonable offers of housing to you.

You can only get help with housing if your immigration status allows this. You might be able to get help if

  • you have applied to the EU Settlement Scheme

  • you have been given refugee status

  • you have indefinite leave to remain in the UK.

Subscribe to RSS - Eligibility test Subscribe to Eligibility test